Watching Dr.Who series is something that I like because it's a childhood thing that I had (a green goo alien episode that freaked me so much but in the end I liked it); Torchwood on the other hand was a series that felt a little bit like early 90's science fiction team shows. You get the weirdos researching and finally getting onto the problem where they defeat the big bad and that's it.
During the second series, Torchwood had its death toll. It also featured James Marsters which was the most shocking role after Spike (or learning that he had a band). Nothing much there, but it had Eve Myles (which is a hottie British woman nonsoever, Rhys you sob!). And then there was Series 3.
Series 3 changes everything. It has become a miniseries of days in the life of Torchwood which starts from the remaining team normal days (getting overpaid, saving the world one dead alien at a time) and leading to a global alien threat saving and disbanding Torchwood (for now).
The problem with torchwood in series 1 and 2 was that they usually based it on Dr. Who. It was a spinoff, torchwood was actually the team that helped stop dalek invasion (taking a lot of damage) during Tennant's DW. Since then it needed a structure. Yes it had one, to follow up for 3 seasons, but it was random episodes with small story arc.
Comparing it with the fringe division (FRINGE), they weren't so much connected. Fringe had connection (but more episodes) during the first 3-4 episodes, TW had connection during S2. But S3 had everything and the time to reap was there.
So, now waiting for the American Based S4 Torchwood, I suggest you watch S3 even if you haven't seen DW or any other torchwood series. It's like a SyFy miniseries (from the good ones, before sea creature craze) only with english accent.
No comments:
Post a Comment